killovivid.blogg.se

Excel merge multiple cells into one
Excel merge multiple cells into one








You can combine cell values without having to use a function at all. We follow the same steps as above except that, between each cell that we want to combine, we type this " " which is just a blank space.

excel merge multiple cells into one

Now all of the text is combined but it looks rather odd because there are no spaces between the text. Type the closing parenthesis for the function and hit Enter and that's it!.Repeat step 3 until you have selected all of the cells:.Type a comma and then select the next cell that you want to combine:.Select the first cell that you want to combine:.Type =CONCATENATE( into the cell where you want the combined text to appear:.In order to do this, we need to do what is called "concatenate" values. Compressing the number of cells required on tab 3 from 8 cells (7+final) to 1 cell (the final cell) is part of that ultimate goal but if I can get the number of cells down to 4+final it would still be a significant improvement.Īs before, any help is greatly appreciated.There are two easy ways to combine values from multiple cells in Excel. My ultimate goal is to make this as end-user friendly as possible as most of the people who will use this know even less about Excel than I do. At this point I have decided I will just have to create an extra area (that is not intended to be printed) to the right of each "sheet". I can use a combination of vlookup, drop-down menus, and tables as well as input cells but that is at least 7 extra cells to produce the results in the one cell. The table is fine on tab 3 because the table's values will not change.Īs near as I can figure this will take 4 cells for the drop-down menus and inputs in addition to tab2 table (3 more cells) and then the final cell in the "sheet" itself.

Excel merge multiple cells into one how to#

I do not know how to use a drop-down menu to directly access one of 3 cells without the table intermediate step.Ĭomponents 2 and 3 are simple user inputs.Ĭomponent4 requires a cell using Data Validation and a table on tab 3. The table needs to be on tab 2 in this case so that the cell references change with the sheet's position change. My current way of doing this (level of understanding):Ĭomponent1 requires a cell using Data Validation and a table on tab 2 that references three cells in the "sheet". Value 1 components: =component1 +component2+ component3 +component4Ĭomponent1: a value from the user's choice of one of 3 previously calculated cells on the "sheet" via a drop down menu.Ĭomponent4: value from user's choice of a number of options (via a drop down menu using vlookup to reference a table) I was editing the previous post for clarity but apparently I took too long. Since I originally posted I am getting the impression that this may not be possible or may be so far above me (VBA for example) that I may just have to use the extra area instead. At this point I have decided I will just have to create an extra area (that is not intended to be printed) to the right of each "sheet" but I would like a more streamlined version that has all of the selections inside the "Value1" cell. I can use a combination of vlookup, drop-down menus, and tables as well as input cells but that is at least 4 extra cells to produce the results in the one cell. Value 2 components are basically the same setup. The problem I am having is with value1 and value2. There is a third section (Attack data) that is the section I am struggling with.Īttack data section's format ( = cells): There is another section for notes (text). in case the user damages a sheet on page 3 he can copy/paste this sheet onto the sheets on page 3.īased on drop-down menus (Data validation using tables on tab 4) and the values on tab 2 the sheet is populated with values. Tab (worksheet) 4: Tables for tabs 2 and 3. Each "sheet" calculates values based on a selection of drop-down menus (Data Validation and vlookup via tables on page 4) and the values from tab 2.

excel merge multiple cells into one

Each "sheet" has identical formula and layout. There are 4 "sheets" to a single print page. Tab (worksheet) 3: The printable "sheets". This is a combination of drop-down menus referencing tables on tab 4 and input cells that will be used as part of the calculation of the values on page 3. Tab (worksheet) 1: Overview and instructions Here is a more detailed explanation of my setup:

excel merge multiple cells into one

Unfortunately the (printable) worksheet is a group of fields (sheets). Regarding two sheets, yeah, Im afraid I had considered that. Data Validation, I was not aware of the existence of the other options.








Excel merge multiple cells into one